I have had a busy few months! Save-My-Life School is doing very well and today I just about fell over when I was sent a picture of my book on an end cap at a Chapters in Brampton, Ontario, with my inspiration, Olympian and mental health ambassador Clara Hughes’ book Open Heart Open Mind! How can words ever describe my gratitude? I don’t think it’s possible…but I will try! 

Two and a half years ago I had no idea how to even write a blog. I was sick, scared and desperate to die, when a friend suggested I start to talk about the emotions and darkness I had hid behind for so many years. So, at my dining room table, I typed a few sentences, blogging that I was about to share a journey, a very unknown journey at that time, with the world. 

I hoped that I could help someone else out there who was suffering from mental illnesses just like me. After I published that first post, I felt naked, vulnerable and scared of what people would think of me. But it was out there, and I couldn’t take it back. 

The next day my blog was being shared by others on social media, and messages began to trickle in. People, so many people, understood my pain and were hopeful that I would keep writing so that they could learn through me. So that their family could learn through me. I had no idea what the future held for me back then. I definitely had no idea I was about to share a journey through hell to recovery – From despair to unwavering hope. The universe was taking me down a path it had planned for me some time ago – and all I had to do was let it lead the way. 


Fast forward to present day when a beautiful friend named Kim Forster introduced me to Heather Down, owner and publisher for Wintertickle Press – and we clicked. Kim saw a message in my words that needed to be shared and Heather was more that willing to oblige. After months of editing, Save-My-Life School was born. No expectations, just a new avenue for my message. 


I had no idea that people would be so supportive. My faith in humanity soared. 


Clara has been one of my biggest supporters! My inspiration and idol told me to never stop talking and sharing my story, so I listened and she continues to cheer me on to this day. My gratitude has no measurement. It overflows my heart every single day. ❤


So I’ve been talking, a lot. People are listening and learning. Hope is spreading and lives are changing. It’s a wonderful gift to witness this every day. 


Who knows what tomorrow will bring. Whatever will be will be. But for tonight, I sit in my bed, in the same spot I have written most of my blogs and edited my book, with my kids fast asleep in their rooms, happy and healthy. My fur babies snuggled up beside me. Sour cream and onion chips waiting on my side table. Life is good. 

Dear Universe, 

Keep taking me where you need me. 

~Nat